Name: Catharine J Hummel

Parents: Patrick & Julia Hummel

Hobbies & Interests: I love spending time outside, babysitting, coloring, and listening to the rain

School Activities: marching band, concert band, cross country, fall play, fall musical, jazz band, large group speech, quiz bowl, book bash, soccer, pep band, and national honor society

Spare Time Activities: I love reading, spending time with friends and family, and participating in church activities, I also hope to get a job at the daycare soon

Education/Career Plans: I’m thinking about going to Northwestern and majoring in Elementary Education with a minor in Psychology. I plan an being either an elementary teacher or a physiologist dealing with kids that have been through traumatic experiences

Past Tulip Festival Participation: I march in the Pride of the Dutchmen marching band and I have enjoyed being in the Dutch Dozen and dancing in the street festival

How do you feel about being a part of the Tulip Festival Court?

I am very excited and honored to have been chosen by community to represent Orange City.

How has Tulip Festival been a part of your life over the years?

When I was younger, I participated in street scrubbing, Dutch Games, Dutch Dancing and middle school marching band. In the past three years I have also participated in Dutch Dozen, Dutch Dancing, and The Pride of the Dutchmen Marching Band. I have also enjoyed the yummy Dutch and carnival food.

Why did you decide to run for Tulip Queen/Court?

I have always loved Tulip Festival. I love participating in different activities and seeing people from all over visiting and learning about the Dutch. I’ve always thought it would be cool to be able to represent Orange City during Tulip Festival as well as on the trip to Pella and the Capital. I never thought I would get on the court, but I didn’t want to regret not trying.

What does the Dutch Heritage of this community mean to you? 

I think Orange City is such a cool and unique place to live. It’s filled with so much culture and history. When you visit other places, they might have a famous restaurant or amusement park; but we have something that means something to the people in this community as well as the communities around us.

Is there anything else about yourself that you would like to share?

My personal heritage is German/Irish/English, but I’ve loved growing up “Dutch”, learning about the culture and history.